Recent Activities

Our  Chapter’s Founding

Alpha Epsilon chapter of Delta Omicron was installed in the School of Music, Converse College, Spartanburg, South Carolina, on October 16, 1966.  Installing offers were Helen Downie Bishop, Delta Omicron International president; Isabelle Humphrey Mauterer, Eta province president; Josephine Alexander Thomas, Piedmont  Area alumnae club president; Mme. Gertrude Tremblay-Baker, Delta Mu faculty adviser; Nancy Hayes, Zeta Pi past president; Judy Crossland, Delta Mu president, and Loretta Gordon, Omicron Lambda president.

Other Delta omicrons assisting were Jancice Hudson Janiec, faculty adviser, and Esther Waltenberger, chapter adviser of Alpha Epsilon, Patricia Pruden Partridge, and Joyce Hankenson.

Nineteen collegiate and twelve professional members were initiated.  Following the initiation, Mrs. Bishop presented the charter to Dr. Eugene N. Crabb, Dean of the School of Music. Dr. Crabb was the inducted as Alpha Epsilon's first chapter patron. 

A reception for members, patrons, administrators, faculty and friends was held in the Montgomery Student Activities Building. Presiding at the tea table were Mrs. Alexander M. Horner, Acting Dean of Students, and Mrs. Edwin Shiver, College Hostess. Among the guests were President and Mrs. Robert T. Coleman, Jr.; Henry Janiec,  national patron; Jean Gaines, national chairman of ritual; Marianne Holland, Zeta Pi president; Marie Johnson Hargett, Omicron Lambda faculty adviser; and Kay Crawford, Omicron Lambda. 

Mrs. Bishop announced that the Brevard Music Center, Brevard North Carolina, would be the recipient of annual scholarship given in honor of Lorena Creamer McClure, the only living Founder of Delta Omicron.

From “The Wheel of Delta Omicron”, Winter 1967 



Make a Free Website with Yola.